Dawn’s Horror-thon 2015

Every Halloween season (which gets longer every year), I treat myself to a personal horror-thon during which month-and-a-half I watch as many horror films and television programs as I can — audiobooks seep in too sometimes.

I teach Horror Genre whenever I get the chance, so I need to keep up. (That’s my excuse).

This year I’ve already burned through all of the Masters of Horror series (available on Hulu), and all of the Wes Craven-directed episodes of the 1980s Twilight Zone, plus assorted features. I will post highlights over the next weeks as a countdown to Halloween… and the final tally.

What started this annual obsession?

Can't Look Away

I love horror and have always particularly watched horror films at Halloween time, but what made my annual horror-thon “official” was a visit to Seattle’s EMP Museum and their awesome exhibit, “Can’t Look Away: The Lure of Horror Film,” curated by Roger Corman, John Landis and Eli Roth. It includes a list of “100 Horror Films to See Before You Die” (linked here in case you’re up to the challenge).

100 Horror Films to See Before You Die
100 Horror Films to See Before You Die – EMP Museum, Seattle

I’ve only got two left to see: A Plague of Zombies (1966) and Not of This Earth (1957)!

The bigger the screen, the better…

But there are plenty more horror films beyond those… for example at Beyond Fest (see what I did there?)…

Beyondfest 2015

My favorite film festival at my favorite theatre! This year I’ll be catching: Yakuza Apocalypse (Miike, 2015), The Assassin, (Hou, 2015), The Invitation (Kusama, 2015), and Phantom of the Opera (Julian, 1925).

Elsewhere on the big screen, I’m looking forward to: Prince of Darkness (Carpenter, 1987), Dracula (Browning, 1931) with Philip Glass and the Kronos Quartet live, Crimson Peak (del Toro, 2015), Tales of Halloween (multiple directors, 2015), and… if I must… The Green Inferno (Roth, 2014).

There’s always Netflix

And languishing in my Netflix queue are: Epidemic (von Trier, 1987),
Isolation (O’Brien, 2005), Witching and Bitching (de la Iglesia, 2013),
Cannibal Holocaust (Deodato, 1980), À L’Interieur (Maury, Bustillo, 2007) and a bunch more that I won’t get to this year….

What’s in your queue this season?

 

Leave a Reply

